Skip Nav

The Queen's New Year Honours List: Chris Hoy, Lewis Hamilton, Liz Smith, Michael Sheen, Peter Jones, Terry Pratchett

Sports and Showbiz Stars Receive New Year Honours

The Queen's annual New Year Honours List has been announced today, with campaigners from ordinary walks of life and stars from the world of showbiz and sport receiving a range of accolades. Team GB's success in the Olympics this year has meant many sport stars have been included on the list: cyclist Chris Hoy is knighted for his three gold medals, and swimmer Rebecca Adlington becomes an OBE. Lewis Hamilton rounds off his fantastic year with an MBE. In the world of entertainment, fantasy author Terry Pratchett is knighted, rock star Robert Plant becomes a CBE, actor Michael Sheen an OBE, actress Liz Smith an MBE, and Dragons' Den's Peter Jones is made a CBE. The Queen also rewarded members of the fashion industry: my girl FabUK has got the lowdown on who received what. Congratulations to all!


Latest Celebrity