Skip Nav

Kim Petras Feed the Beast Album Interview

Kim Petras on Recrafting Her Debut Major-Label Album After a Leak: "I'm Proud of the Message"

NEW YORK, NEW YORK - JUNE 09: Kim Petras performs during Governors Ball Music Festival 2023 at Flushing Meadows Corona Park on June 09, 2023 in New York City. (Photo by Astrida Valigorsky/Getty Images)

In 2022, Kim Petras faced something every artist dreads: a series of leaks that left her album in jeopardy. "I'm devastated idk how all of this happened and I just wanna quit," Petras tweeted at the time, Billboard reported. Nearly a year later, "Feed the Beast" is coming. In fact, Petras's first major-label album is just 10 days away.

"It's really like three albums combined," Petras tells POPSUGAR in a June interview while discussing her partnership with the Motorola Razr+. "Someone leaked [my previous album], so that was annoying." From the ashes came inspiration, though. Petras's A&R representative helped her move through the "annoying" situation, she recounts, advising her, "'You gotta go feed the beast and make more music. Do what you do best.' And that's exactly what I did."

The setback turned out to be worth it. "I feel like I really took that time — which is time I would've never taken — to really top [the album] off and make sure it's the best it can possibly be," Petras says. "And now it really feels like a cohesive album. I'm proud of the message of it, which is just to go for it and do what you're most scared of."

What is Petras most scared of? Well, in this instance, it's the transition from quirkier records (See: 2021's "Coconuts") to more mainstream releases. "I always wanted to go full out and I finally dared to, and even though that's scary . . . I think there's no way of growing if you're not doing what you're most scared of."

"Feed the Beast" features 14 tracks and a bonus song (her Grammy-award-winning collab with Sam Smith, "Unholy") and pairs Petras with "a lot of people I've dreamt about working with," including producers Max Martin and Ian Kirkpatrick.

Petras easily identifies a favourite track from the album: "Claws." The song, she says, tells a story she's been "struggling to tell." Recounts Petras, "And one day I was in the studio and it just all came out within 40 minutes and was this magical experience, where it really felt full circle."

Keep reading for the full "Feed the Beast" track list and for more information on its release date.

Kim Petras's "Feed the Beast" Track List

1. "Feed the Beast"
2. "Alone (Feat. Nicki Minaj)"
3. "King of Hearts"
4. "Thousand Pieces"
5. "Uh Oh"
6. "Revelations"
7. "Bait (feat. Banks)"
8. "Sex Talk"
9. "Hit It From the Back"
10. "Claws"
11. "Minute"
12. "Coconuts"
13. "Castle in the Sky"
14. "Brrr"
Bonus Track: "Unholy" - (Sam Smith Feat. Kim Petras)

Kim Petras's "Feed the Beast" Release Date

"Feed the Beast" will be released on June 23.

Latest Entertainment