Do you take screenshots of messages people send you and show them to your friends or significant other? You might want to think twice about doing that, now that Instagram will notify a user if someone takes a screenshot of their direct message.
This new notification applies to only one type of direct message: the temporary photos and videos you send — a new feature launched by the app a week ago. If you send a regular message and take a screenshot, Instagram won't let your friends know you did that. An example of what the alert looks like is below.
As you can see, Instagram will send a notification to let you know someone took a screenshot. In case you miss it or don't see it, you'll still see that your friend took a screenshot of your photo or video. The same notification will happen if someone replays your disappearing photo or video.
Now that you know, be careful what you screenshot!