Skip Nav

All the Rocky Franchise Movies in Order

Every Single Rocky Movie, in Order

All the Rocky Franchise Movies in Order
Image Source: Everett Collection

It seems almost hard to believe, but the Rocky movie franchise has been chugging along for nearly 50 years now. Starting with the original "Rocky" in 1976, the series is now nine movies strong, with one due out this week and multiple other projects reportedly in development.

The series started with the classic sports underdog story of Rocky Balboa (played by Sylvester Stallone), a working-class boxer from Philadelphia who goes up against a heavyweight champion in a match that no one thinks he can possibly win. Since then, there have been a total of six Rocky movies, with the most recent being "Rocky Balboa" in 2006. In 2015, a spinoff launched with "Creed," starring Michael B. Jordan as Adonis Creed, son of the legacy Rocky character Apollo Creed. This moved the franchise into the modern day.

"Creed III" is hit cinemas on 3 March, so it's the perfect time to look back at its predecessors. If you're thinking of marathoning the classic movies along with the new film, here's a complete list of all the Rocky franchise movies so far, in chronological order.

Latest Entertainment