Skip Nav

All the Kings and Queens of Westeros

A Complete History of the 21 Kings and 2 Queens That Ruled Westeros

All the Kings and Queens of Westeros
Image Source: HBO

The history of Westeros, the setting of the "Game of Thrones" universe, is a sprawling one, filled with great battles, great houses, and great (and not so great) rulers. Between "Game of Thrones" and the prequel series, "House of the Dragon," we've seen several kings and queens rise and fall at different points in Westeros's history. As readers of George R.R. Martin's novels know, however, that's just a small sliver of the rich history that Martin has created for his fantasy world.

As "House of the Dragon" digs deeper into the history of House Targaryen, the royal house that rules through most of Westeros's revealed history, it seems like the perfect time for a primer on every ruler that we've seen in the "GOT" universe so far. From the kings we know very well to those you might not know unless you've read all the extra books and bonus materials, many stories are left to be told. For the purposes of this history, we're combining both the history from the books' universe and the one from the TV show; in the cases where the TV universe goes further than the books have, we're following the TV timeline to its conclusion.

If you're ready for spoilers on all the rulers of Westeros, keep reading for a complete primer on everyone who has sat on the Iron Throne so far.

Latest Entertainment